Welcome to the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) Food & Beverage Cluster

Group around banner

Anne Sado, President, George Brown College, Norm Kelly, Toronto City Councillor, Carmela Serebryany-Harris, President, Upper Crust (Cluster Co-Chair), Nancy Croitoru, President & CEO, Food & Consumer Products of Canada, Chef John Higgins, Janet De Silva, President & CEO, Toronto Region Board of Trade and Dan Magliocco, President, Mondelez Canada International.

Led by Food & Consumer Products of Canada (FCPC), the Cluster is a collaborative, industry-wide initiative aimed at making the GTA’s food and beverage manufacturing sector an even stronger economic driver. As the second largest manufacturing employer in  the GTA – and largest in the country – food and beverage manufacturing is one of the region’s best kept economic secrets. Our mission is to work with our partners  to promote the sector so it can be the destination where companies from right here in our own backyard and from around the world choose to innovate, invest and grow.

This initiative is about bringing together industry, academia, government and other stakeholders to align on strategic  priorities to grow and sustain the sector for the long-term. Our  long-term  goal is to evolve our cluster, following models from  around the world, such as Food Valley, Netherlands. The goal of the Cluster is to have the entire industry eco-system all pulling together on a vision forward.

The Cluster concept is a focused approach to regional economic development that is internationally proven to be one of the strongest avenues to increased business growth and new connections.

This site is your home to find up-to-date information about our sector. It will also be the home for an annual labour market study to identify the needs and opportunities in our sector. It has current information about food industry specific post-secondary program offerings, business support opportunities with government, academia and stakeholders, and, under the promoting innovation tab, connections to groups who can help business solve real business challenges.

Cluster Steering Committee:

  • Dan Magliocco, Mondelez Canada International (Co-Chair)
  • Carmela Serebryany-Harris, Upper Crust (Co-Chair)
  • Margaret Hudson, Burnbrae Farms
  • John Pigott, Club Coffee LP
  • Allan Cosman, Ferrero Canada
  • Jim Thorne, Griffith Laboratories
  • Guy Ozery, Ozery Pita Break
  • Derek Nighbor, Food & Consumer Products of Canada
  • Michelle Saunders, Food & Consumer Products of Canada
  • Norm Beal, Food & Beverage Ontario
  • Isabel Dopta Food & Beverage Ontario


With special thanks to our Steering Committee Advisors, who have provided information to support the development of our GTA Food & Beverage Cluster programming to date:

  • Chris Holling, Toronto Region Board of Trade
  • Robert Luke, George Brown College
  • Rene Van Acker, University of Guelph
  • David Sparling, University of Western Ontario
  • Caroline Copeman, MNP LLP
  • Sebastian Distefano, KPMG Canada
  • Jane Henderson, RBC
  • Marion MacKenzie, GCI Group
  • Michael Wolfson, City of Toronto
  • Linda Franklin, Colleges Ontario
  • Forrest Parlee, Mitacs


If you would like more information about the Cluster initiative, please contact FCPC’s Vice President of Provincial & Territorial Affairs, Michelle Saunders, at michelles@fcpc.ca or 416-510-6998.